What is global realism?

Workshop with Milo Rau

The artistic creations of the IIPM - the International Institute of Political Murder, between theatre, film and political action.

The IIPM under its Swiss director, the author Milo Rau, has to date worked on global realism in over 50 plays, films, projects and essays; it is an art form that attempts to draw a portrait of the present day within the context of globalization - in symbolic processes, re-enactments, narratives, adaptations of the classics and political action in 30 countries up to now.

The IIPM's artistic director, Milo Rau, will speak about his work, examine his working methods and develop - in a dialogue with workshop participants and by addressing a selection of his works - the aesthetics of committed stage realism that is at home in both classical stage drama and new forms of theatre.

Biography:

Milo Rau was born in Bern in 1977, he studied sociology, Romance languages and German Studies in Paris, Berlin and Zurich, including under Pierre Bourdieu and Tzvetan Todorov. Since 2002 he has published numerous plays, books and projects, which have been produced at major international festivals. Milo Rau has won various theatre awards (including a Swiss Theatre Award in 2014), most recently he was honoured with the ITI Prize on World Theatre Day, following in the footsteps of such artists as Frank Castorf, Pina Bausch, George Tabori, Heiner Goebbels and Christoph Marthaler.

Simultaneous interpretation

 

05.27—14:00
In german
Duration 3h

Was ist globaler Realismus?

Workshop mit Milo Rau

Die theatrale Arbeit des IIPM - International Institut of Political Murder zwischen Theater, Film und politischer Intervention

In bisher über 50 Theaterstücken, Filmen, Aktionen und Essays arbeitet das IIPM um den Schweizer Regisseur und Autor Milo Rau an einem globalen Realismus: eine Kunstform, die versucht, ein Porträt der heutigen Zeit vor dem Hintergrund der Globalisierung zu zeichnen - in symbolischen Prozessen, Reenactments, Erzählstücken, Klassikeradaptionen und politischen Aktionen in bisher über 30 Ländern.

Der künstlerische Leiter des IIPM, Milo Rau, spricht über seine Arbeit, analysiert seine Arbeitsmethoden und entwickelt - im Dialog mit den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern des Workshops und entlang einer Auswahl seiner Arbeiten - die Ästhetik eines engagierten, am klassischen Schauspielertheater genauso wie an neuen Theaterformen orientierten Bühnen-Realismus.

Biografie:

Milo Rau, geboren 1977 in Bern, studierte Soziologie, Romanistik und Germanistik in Paris, Berlin und Zürich, u.a. bei Pierre Bourdieu und Tzvetan Todorov. Seit 2002 veröffentlichte er zahlreiche Theaterstücke, Bücher und Aktionen, die an allen grossen internationalen Festivals zu sehen waren. Milo Rau ist Träger verschiedener Theaterpreise (unter anderem eines Schweizer Theaterpreises 2014), zuletzt wurde er 2016, nach  Theaterkünstlern wie Frank Castorf, Pina Bausch, George Tabori, Heiner Goebbels oder Christoph Marthaler, mit dem ITI-Preis zum Welttheatertrag geehrt.

Simultanübersetzung

 

27.05—14:00
14:00
Auf deutsch
Länge 3h